Hosted by Swift Communications


Furi Kuri

Furi Kuri
Animation - 9.0
Sound - 9.0
Story - 7.7
Character - 8.4
Value - 8.3
Enjoyment - 8.7
Average - 8.5

Reviewed 200 times Statistic Help |  Review it


User Review
Next Jump to page   of 10  

Rafael    2010-12-25 02:40:05
Average 8.8
Animation 8
Sound 8
Story 10
Character 10
Value 7
Enjoyment 10
one of the best anime i have ever seen, and one of the most confusing as well. It takes a few times though befor u start to get the bazaar story line. i dont recomend this anime if ur one of the more serious fans, or if ur new to anime. this is for people who watch alot of anime.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Duo    2010-07-13 00:17:33
Average 9.7
Animation 9
Sound 9
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
I could honestly write an essay on how underrated this anime really is, but I'll keep it as short as I can. FLCL in my opinion is perhaps one of the most well put together piece of art work. I'm not going to explain the parts of the anime that is already universally understood such as the sound and animation. But rather I'm hopefully optimistic that I can show others how truly underrated the story and value of the anime really is.

First of I'll say that FLCL has to stories, one underlying the other. The first is is the most obvious and often the most criticized. The "main story" that is presented later on in the episodes to follow. The other is that of the main protagonist Naota, and his journey into a very misconceived view of adulthood. Though this is the first story to be introduced, it is often overshadowed by the intensity of the "main" story, and the ridiculous antics of the characters around Naota.


Though I can not purse to further explain myself too clearly, due to Criteria 8 (no spoilers), I can say that the way Naota perceives the antics of all the "adults" around him, it gives him a very altered and biased opinion of what an adult actually is. As the story progresses he comes to the realization of what it truly is and his adjustment to adulthood.

FLCL is only 6 episodes so it can be watched again, and it should be. It's enjoyable to watch, and as you watch it again you can look for those hidden clues you missed as you were distracted from the amazing side quests. The 6 episodes each contain more value as each one holds value time and thought into them for they expressed in each of them what is normally done on a 21 episode series.


What I'm attempting to get across is that this isn't merely an anime that is just meant to make the viewer laugh, though it does a great job at it. It makes you think, it makes you wonder, all while keeping you entertained... how amazing is that? How ever actually bothered to read all of this I thank you for your open mind, and patience. Feel free to share your thoughts, whether they disagree or you share my views. Thank you all for sticking by.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Daggerz    2009-05-29 16:13:13
Average 8.7
Animation 8
Sound 8
Story 9
Character 8
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
FLCL may only have six episodes but they are all meaningful.

There may seem to be no plot at first but out of nowhere one of the most interesting plots I've ever seen develops.

The character development is excellent and it doesn't take a whole explanation episode to tell a characters history. The writers are truly great. The characters show almost all emotions, however subtle.

FLCL will for most people be worth watching again at some point. And every time you watch it you'll see something you missed. It is very enjoyable. I suggest giving it a shot no matter who you are.



1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Dusk Thanatos    2008-08-16 19:40:50
Average 8.2
Animation 8
Sound 7
Story 6
Character 9
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
FLCL is the Monty Python of animes: it's ridiculous, hilarious, bizarre, and random all at once, in most enjoyable way you can imagine. However, just like Monty Python, this is, undoubtedly, a love it or hate it affair.

The sound isn't particularly memorable, but it fits; and there is practically no story (supposedly there's a load of symbolism; I don't believe it, and, even if there is, this is the wrong show to put it in). However, the zany characters are certainly memorable, and the show is among the funniest things I've ever seen.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Bellar    2008-03-11 00:26:37
Average 9.3
Animation 10
Sound 9
Story 9
Character 9
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
Furi Kuri is a short and absurd series. All in all, the specifics behind everything that goes on aren't revealed, with the show focusing on comedy overall.

The various animation styles used in the show work well in bringing out the crazy in each episode.

The background music and ending theme are very lively and wacky; well suited to the series.

The plot and history behind the events of the series aren't brought into full view, however this fits well with the way the story unfolds mostly from the perspective of Naota, the main guy. Instead of balancing things with all that, the show focuses on the characters frequent and absurd antics that culminate in a single spectacularly crazy event, over the course of each show and throughout the whole series.

The main characters are very good, though you'd better be paying attention when the little of their history you get to see shows up. No bludgeoning viewers with backstory in this show.

Though the show is quite short and leaves much unsaid it is highly enjoyable. Funny slapstick and witty humor in each episode, with no filler - which is good considering there're so few episodes. In fact, though I'd have loved a bit more plot exposition, more episodes would have been even more welcome.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Cowmaster    2007-12-11 23:47:23
Average 7.7
Animation 10
Sound 10
Story 7
Character 7
Value 5
Enjoyment 7
The one outstanding thought in your head as you watch this anime is "WTF?"

Stuff you gotta love:
-Hot violent alien chick with ADD
-Smashing people in the head with guitars
-Being eaten by a robot thing that came out of your head, being supercool for like 5 seconds, then getting pooped out when he's done with you
-Wicked soundtrack
-Lots of stuff gets broken /eaten / shot / smashed...and then explodes

Stuff that you won't love:
-Everything else


0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

- [ JoeLZ UN ] -    2007-07-15 11:07:32
Average 6.7
Animation 10
Sound 9
Story 6
Character 5
Value 5
Enjoyment 5
Seeing how Furi Kuri AKA FLCL was on the Top 30s, & it was only a 6 episodes OVA, I had to try this out to see what Was Sooo Great about this anime?! However, even after my second rewatch, i still am unable to see what is sooo great about this anime which seems like one of the Best Animes to Others???

It starts off with Naota explaining how his life is in Masabe... Boring & Uneventful. Suddenly, this strange woman runs over him and hits him on his head, causing this strange horn to grow on his forehead?! Only to find Robots & other ExTREMELY WACKy THINGS CAN COME OUT FROM HIS HEAD?!

Animation was Definitely One of the Best of the year 2000. The Animation style is SoOoO Smooth & Unique, It can even compete with Animes right now~! With different styles ranging from Black & White Manga Style with animation? & 3d Matrix Style on a 2D Anime?! & Simple & Colourful Yet Comprehendably Wacky Action Scenes?! Just AmAZING~! & It's Even MORE Surprising all this was Done in 2000?!

Sounds? Pretty Good. Seiyuus did a Good job in sounding Wacky & Crazy as they needed to. The Music was pretty Rock-y but It was Good as it fitted the style of this anime. Wacky & Crazy. The Background Music was pretty well done, & I have nothing to complain about the sounds.

Now. The Story? The first time i had watched Furi Kuri, I enjoyed a couple of its wacky scenes and some humour, but i didn't like it and found it a drag to finish off Furi Kuri. I was about to review it, but seeing how the reviews on AnimeNFO.com said to watch it a few times to understand it. I Did Just That, & I had enjoyed its jokes, Random, Wacky & Perverted Humour More, But i still can't figure why people think Furi Kuri is all thaat Great?!

It was Wacky, the Action Scenes were Amazing, & Completely Full of Surprises... Yeah. But what meaning does it hold? I guess none. & That's why people enjoy this. Furi Kuri is basically an anime Action-packed with Full of Random Wacky, Crazy & Sometimes Really Perverted Humour making References to other animes or shows...

There were also A Variety of Characters, some which are normal, and some which were extremely weird and random. Only character development was seen in Naota, but not much changed in the end anyway, & the only obvious reason that the characters were there, was only to provide comedy.

The storyline was pretty confusing as well, as timelines seemingly skip from here and there, back and forth... & I guess that would be why, it would be good to rewatch Furi Kuri, as you will be able to see what you might have missed out when you watched it the first time.

Okay. Sooo, Despite it having a Deep Story but Produced in Such a Random Wacky Confusing Manner. It's Good, But It's not thaaat great, & Pretty Over-rated, in my Opinion...

Or Maybe this Wacky Action Shonen Humour just isn't for me, as I much prefer shojo dramas. As i prefer to have Meanings in the animes I Watch, this anime seemingly meaningless just doesn't appeal to me...

So I'm sorry, but I Just didn't Enjoy Furi Kuri as Other people had...

I'll probably say, If you like Wacky Random Action & Are into Shonen animes, sure, Try it Out.
But If you're Hooked onto Shojo dramas & not sooo into action and shonen animes like me? Stay Away from this...


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

buRe    2007-06-16 16:08:40
Average 6.5
Animation 7
Sound 9
Story 2
Character 7
Value 7
Enjoyment 7
What the heck? This anime is the top 100? What's wrong with these people?
I hate to admit it, but I saw this anime on AdultSwim [the source of mainstream anime along with Toonami- eh.. no.. the WHOLE C.N system has it filled with mainstream animes. My bad] and I thought... What a wierd arse anime. Seriously. I liked it for its attempt to do something "different" and outgoing or just something utterly wierd.
It's enjoyable even after the mainstream from the "scene kids" and multimillion dollar companies- HOTTOPIC distributing merchandises that range from shirts to dvds... I shouldn't give H.T that much credit though. It's primarly along the lines of simple anime freaks who need a simple, easy and enjoyable anime to obssess over. I'm sorry. But too much fanservice has made my ratings of FLCL, Furi Kuri... FOOLY COOLY. Whatever you may call it... just a little bit overrated for something so bland overall.
::More from this review::

0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Mystere    2007-05-23 09:09:22
Average 9.2
Animation 8
Sound 10
Story 9
Character 8
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Ahhh, yes. FLCL. I first watched this show around 2 years ago, and It's still my favorite anime. I'd highly recommend it to anyone else who's hit puberty and has a good sense of humor and can laugh at anything. The animation keeps your eyes on the screen, the music fits the mood perfectly, and the story is a work of art. I can honestly say I consider FLCL to be the most complete anime I've seen yet.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Mel    2007-02-18 10:26:54
Average 8.5
Animation 9
Sound 10
Story 7
Character 8
Value 8
Enjoyment 9
FLCL is absolutely insane, but totally amazing. It's a mix of everything and more, from the action to the romance, to the crazy sci-fi and comedy. It's plot is as unpredictable as they come.
The music is some of the best I've heard in any show, anime, or movie. It's fitting, to say the very least.
The fact that there are only six episodes might startle you, but if there were any more it would throw it off key.
Don't let the bizarre graphics turn you off- FLCL has attitude.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Bokusha    2006-11-17 07:06:12
Average 8.0
Animation 8
Sound 10
Story 7
Character 6
Value 0
Enjoyment 9
A typical must-see anime. FLCL is somewhat unique both in how confusing it is when watching it for the first time and in the role the music plays in it.
First off, the story will seem entirely nonsensical the first time you watch it, and probably the second time as well. This is entirely a result of the perspective though, and the story does make sense in a way, you'll just have to re-watch it a few times.
Then there's the music. As you'll probably know, the bulk of the soundtrack is done by the now well known japanese rock-band 'the pillows', and part of the anime has been written around the music instead of the other way around. It's also quite rare to hear actual singing during scenes, much less pretty much the whole time.
This short series feels very experimental, with a very distinct audiovisual style, and it's uniqueness is probably what netted it such a large success.
Again, a must-see.
::More from this review::

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Mason (2006-11-17 11:03:02)   2006-11-02 16:15:07
Average 10.0
Animation 10
Sound 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Furi Kuri, Fooly Cooly, FLCL, whatever you want to call it. Truly a work of art. The most abstract and artistic anime I’ve ever come across. Action, comedy, music, art, romance, aliens, robots, aliens kickin' robots ass, etc. This very addictive show has a strong sexual nature, a matrix-style fight scene and mecha-clobbering, hilarious situations and jokes, a timeless soundtrack, a catchy storyline and is my 2nd favourite anime.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Budding (2006-10-15 09:11:30)   2006-10-15 09:09:52
Average 8.7
Animation 10
Sound 10
Story 6
Character 9
Value 8
Enjoyment 9
Furi Kuri is a short 6 half-hour long episode anime which is extremely fun to watch despite being very confusing.

The graphics and animation are magnificent for an anime released in 2000. The anime switches seamlessly between several drawing and animation styles, from static 2D manga to dynamic 3D computer graphics.
Furi Kuri is absoltely amazing to watch. I have not yet seen any other anime drawn and animated in such an informal yet brilliant fashion.

I loved the music in Furi Kuri. Seeing as it's only 6 episodes long, every episode had unique soundtracks, and they all fit extremely well with the scenes.
The voice overs were excellent as well. Some of the closeup voice effects sound very good and really reflect the personality of the characters.

The only area that lets the anime down is the storyline. It is too fast paced for its complexity, making it confusing to watch, and leaving plenty of unanswered questions in the end. Personally, I watched the anime multiple times trying to understand everything, and altough that did help, I still do not fully understand what is going on.

The characters are absolutely insane. Everyone seems to be mentally instable in Furi Kuri, making them an absolute joy to watch. However, most likely due to the shortness of the anime, all characters pretty much lack development, which is a factor which caused the confusing storyline.

Despite being only 6 episodes long, Furi Kuri is definitely rewatchable. You will no doubt be amazed by the graphics and music, and be utterly confused by the storyline, forcing you to watch through all of it a second or maybe third time.
Furi Kuri contains humour, action, ecchi and drama. It has wonderful graphics and music. It has brilliant characters. For me, all of that was more than enough to counter the poor storyline, and I enjoyed the anime a lot.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Eve    2006-09-29 09:18:25
Average 8.3
Animation 8
Sound 9
Story 9
Character 8
Value 8
Enjoyment 8
What a ride!

This was a real head-scratcher when it came to rating it because I didn’t watch it for the characters, I didn’t even watch it for the story. I kept watching it to see what they would throw at you next. I spent half the time trying to figure out the significance/theme/meaning behind certain scenes and the other half of the time convinced that this show was just a bunch of silliness.
::More from this review::

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Pakxenon (2006-12-20 00:18:02)   2006-09-06 23:07:47
Average 9.7
Animation 10
Sound 10
Story 9
Character 9
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
An anime featuring guitars as weapons, BB guns, giant robots, and a whole shitload of parodies, metaphors, and craziness. At first you'd think the animators were on crack with all the budget they were given, but it's so fortunate they had some good stuff up their noses to produce such a lively mix of plotlines, hidden plotlines, and a boy who seems way too mature for his age but the fact is that he still hasn't gone through puberty yet. Such awesomeness needs more rewatches to understand.

An anime for the contemporary looking for escape from the current trends, some philosophy, and the old school mood but with improved graphics and insaneness.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Dude Love (2006-09-06 15:01:02)   2006-09-06 14:07:06
Average 6.8
Animation 4
Sound 4
Story 7
Character 8
Value 9
Enjoyment 9
Furi Kuri is the anime that everyone loves to hate. Whether it be for the lack of, or the seemingly lack of, coherent storyline, or the confusing premises, anime watchers have never truly comprehended the true essence of Furi Kuri.

Let me start off by saying that the animation and sound were decent. Nothing special, but where the anime really shines is in its story and character. Underneath all the puns and wit, an American anime watcher can still find underlying humor within all of the fluff presented in the animation.

The emotions of love, hate, despair, and fear are tossed around so easily in six episodes, that it's totally ridiculous to even watch this series with a human perspective. Instead, Furi Kuri must be watched from a distance and with time to analyze every frame for deeper meaning and color.

When one realizes that Furi Kuri is much more orchestrated than one may initially think, then one will begin to understand the mechanics of the themes. There is no plot, but there is theme, and theme is essential to any piece of work, while plot is only secondary, and at times, unneeded.

Being one of the only animes that actually attributes the viewer with any sign of capacity, Furi Kuri recognizes the power of the audience and its own lack of power. The only influence it really has is on the screen. The rest is up to us. It presents us with an cubist painting that none will like at first; it is an acquired taste after all. Once the beauty of the randomness emerges through the right lenses, you will see for yourself the potency of the perplexity.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

denisuki~    2006-08-31 10:34:19
Average 9.5
Animation 10
Sound 9
Story 8
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
What to say about an anime like FLCL... I can't really describe my feelings about it. If you are downright determined to make me describe it with a single word, that would surely be:

Lunatic.

Yep, FLCL is 'that kind of anime'. The quotation marks are because there's actually no other anime like FLCL. It's one of a kind.

What you'll find in FLCL is state of art design and animation. Also the music is high quality. What you won't find for sure is sanity. Because FLCL is INSANE. But it's unique. And it's not pretentious also. Unique anime should have their own spot in everybody's anime ideology.

What the hell is FLCL? It's an idea! You won't surely understand by watching the anime, but you should watch it anyway. The anime tends to get romantic at some parts, action-like at some others, kinda dramatic even sometimes and tragic. But the next moment will always be abstract so the overall genre is that. ABSTRACT, ABSURD.

Not an anime for everyone. I can't say it's my favourite either, but it was sure fun like hell to watch. Just one thing: don't try to find deep meanings in it, because you'll get too confused. Just enjoy its craziness and if you so much wanna find more about its craziness' 'reason', watch it again, and again and again. Till your head becomes a hot boiling pot of insanity!

Try it, you'll be glad you did, even if you don't like it after all. Worth a try at least.
::More from this review::

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Darts    2006-08-06 16:54:21
Average 8.2
Animation 7
Sound 9
Story 8
Character 8
Value 9
Enjoyment 8
I'm finally going to review Furi Kuri. This anime is random funny and has a lot of fully cooly haha but it is true. It is truly enjoyable and easy to be rewatched because you migt not know the true meaning of the show if you only watch it once. I mean a lot of reviews of Furi Kuri don't even really seem to know what its about deep down haha.You could say they use fooly cooly as a perverted act in random parts of the body like the head but with a robot its hard to explain just watch the series'. I've also watched this quite a few timesso I know what I'm talking about.

Animation - The animation is very smooth which I always liked. There is also so many different drawing styles which is fun for this anime. The characters' designs are really cool and that and some are pretty hot. In some parts though the colors are a bit bland looking. Theres also som CGI but not to much.

Sound - The voices were funny and different then most(means different tone such as not stereotypic). There is almost music playing throughout the entire anime series which is awesome. The ending theme was catchy which madse me watch the ending quite a bit.

Story - Most people would say Furi Kuri has no story well Im call those people posers' because they pretend to know what its about. If you look closely you can see that the series' is about adultseens with weird stuff happening. The 12 year old boy kinda seems to have a crush with the hot alien chick and so does the chick like him. Theres alot of sexual reference s in the show to explain what I'm saying. The story is just funny, perveryed and somewhat random.

Characters - The characters were all likeable. You can have a favorite, then again you might not. They're pretty horny yres I said horny if you pay attention to their dialogue, not just any kind of horny their in a fooly cooly way.

Value - With out a doubt it is worth plenty of rewatches. If you likr ity you may buy it even though it comes on adult swim quite frequently. I recommend this to just about anyone because its easy to sit through and only 6 episodes in total length.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Saya77    2006-08-01 21:40:31
Average 9.7
Animation 9
Sound 10
Story 9
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
This is probably the most easily enjoyable and crazy anime in existence. The extremely fast pace and the combination of action, comedy, and drama combine to make this anime one of the most enjoyable animes out there.

The animation is perfect for the mood of this series. Serious at times, but then randomly busting out into graphic "manga" scenes where the screen flies through manga pages as the characters speak their lines; definately some of the most fun parts of the series. The fluid action scenes, especially with Haruka's fighting technique is very fun to watch.

The soundtrack is terrific, rock and roll songs prevail, perfect for the fast pace of this crazy anime. The ending song is especially good, and is probably the best anime ending in existence.

The story is fast-paced and crazy just like the anime itself, and introduces things that you may not understand after the first watch-through (which is ok, due to the length of the series- 6 episodes). The ending was especially pretty good.

The characters were terrific, and were the highlight of this series. Naota's stuggles with his brother's former girlfriend, who sees Naoto's as a replacement for his brother, and with Haruka, who constantly teases him and flirts with his father, are especially interesting being that Naota is pretty much the only "mature" person in the series. Haruka herself was a very interesting character, and by the end we get to know more about her motivations and see how hers' and Naota's relationship develops.

This anime is one-of-a-kind, and is a must see for any anime fan. The 6 episode run time should allow for anyone with a free night to watch the entire series, and it is well worth the watch. It is also an anime that is very rewatchable and is probably neccessary to rewatch in order to catch everything that is going on.

I really enjoyed this series and would rank it as one of the most fun animes ever made.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Smaggelt    2006-07-26 16:52:19
Average 5.2
Animation 8
Sound 6
Story 5
Character 3
Value 6
Enjoyment 3
i`m currently trying to watch the highest nfo`s top200 series so eventually i had to watch this anime. but why the high rating in the top200? Because watching this anime felt like a waste of my time
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

User Review
Next Jump to page   of 10  



Anime and Manga database (AnimeNfo.com)
© 2001-2012 Kevin Lamothe (supers) | Terms and Conditions
Hosted by Swift Communications


banner

Site design by ecxol.net:
ecxol