Hosted by Swift Communications


Noir

Noir
Animation - 8.3
Sound - 9.2
Story - 7.6
Character - 7.8
Value - 7.5
Enjoyment - 7.8
Average - 8.0

Reviewed 150 times Statistic Help |  Review it


User Review
Next Jump to page   of 8  

Wynter    2012-07-05 07:11:08
Average 6.8
Animation 7
Sound 8
Story 7
Character 6
Value 7
Enjoyment 6
Noir, is a very obvious dedication/shout out to Film Noir, a style of filmmaking from the 50’s, which was in black/white, originated in France, with little to no speech, usually surrounded with the themes of guns and detective work. There are common themes. Now, onto the review!

Noir is a very dark and serious anime. Even though it was made in 2001, it looks like it was from the late 90’s, closely related to the art style of Serial Experiments Lain. The colors and obscure imagery (especially in the opening) will make sure of that! Being a Bee Train production, one can expect poor pacing, and the appearance of a non-existent story. Unlike most Bee Train productions, Noir actually has a good story, but the pacing is still crap (not as crap as their other shows, though!).

In the end, like most anime you get a show that didn’t quite live up to what it could have been, however, it does much better than most, and is worth a look if you don’t mind the pacing. If this puts anything in perspective, it's probably the best paced Bee Train anime yet.

I will update as I see more and if my opinion changes.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

VmZ (2010-02-15 17:23:09)   2010-01-05 18:43:14
Average 8.3
Animation 8
Sound 10
Story 8
Character 8
Value 7
Enjoyment 9
Noir was one of the most entertaining animes I have ever watched. It had a cast of interesting characters, good storyline, lots of action and one hell of a soundtrack.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

ceeceexox (2007-08-05 20:30:44)   2006-11-03 15:58:16
Average 8.7
Animation 8
Sound 10
Story 8
Character 9
Value 8
Enjoyment 9
REVIEW EDITED.


Let's see, I rewatched Noir for the second time, and while I forgot a lot of what happened, Noir didn't seem to be as good as when I first watched it. Noir got repetitive, to say the least, and there was some character development, but not enough for my liking. I also feel that there's not a strong plot.
Still, Noir was quite enjoyable.

Reading the introductions and all that jazz, I had this image of an anime with lots of blood and gore and violence. I quickly realized I was wrong. Now don't get me wrong or anything, yes there is violence. Yes mirielle and kirika do kill people. But if you pay attention, you will see that they leave quite a bit for your imagination to work.

Animation was fluid, and the fight scenes were nicely drawn. I watched a low quality version of Noir, and so I can't say much about Noir's animation.

Sound is easily the best part of Noir. The music was nice, and it fit perfect with everything. The sound effects and music during fight sequences, made it more enjoyable to watch. Although some of the background music is kind of repetitive, it didn't bother me because it fit so well.

Noir does not heavily revolve around a plot. Rather, the plot is generalized to include more action. This is to be expected, of course. Noir's plot is nothing spectacular, and does not have much detail, but it was enough to keep me watching until the last episode.

Characters had depth, and did not seem bland which is always nice to see in an anime. I felt myself intrigued in Kirika's past.

For me, I don't think I would watch Noir again, but it is a good anime. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys action-packed animes.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

petran79 (2007-11-27 14:15:22)   2006-07-14 12:18:42
Average 6.2
Animation 7
Sound 9
Story 3
Character 5
Value 4
Enjoyment 9
It is the first time I'm enjoying hearing gunshots in an anime and increasing the speaker volume to the max everytime an action scene took place.

The amazing music and SFX are the main reason the anime kept my interest till the last episode. For that reason, and ONLY for that, Noir is worth watching at least once. Though there plenty of other action titles, and much better ones too, none reaches the music quality of Noir during action. But because too much action ruins a title, Noir ensures other kinds of tension and suspense during the more quiet episodes where the hitwomen have to make a decision whether to kill or not. Overall there isnt an episode where you dont hear a gunshot at least once.

Animation was good during the action and shooting scenes but the character visuals were too simplistic, though the backgrounds were good. It was the visuals that ruined the characters. Though the voice actresses were excellent (both original and the ADV dub too) they could have been much better especially in the close-up scenes. Not even once was I impressed in the scenes not involving any shooting. Too bad wasting so good voice actresses.

As for the story, well they tried to make things more mysterious in the end, revealing the true identity of Kirika but probably the viewer would already have lost the interest to learn about her past or Mireille's and Chloe's past, after being pounded with so many shootings and action. I dint care about the true purpose of the Soldats or their conflicts at all. Such kind of stories with mysteries, conspiracies and masonry are repulsive to me.

I wouldnt rewatch this anytime soon but only for the action scenes. Oh, and about them being invincible: it was probably because the Soldats aim wasnt to kill them. Or else they'd have done it from the start.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Saya77 (2006-08-20 14:24:12)   2006-05-24 16:49:33
Average 9.5
Animation 9
Sound 10
Story 8
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Noir is one of my favorite animes of all time; the main characters, Mireille and Kirika, both have great depth and are very engaging characters. While the story may have a few minor flaws, the sheer amount of style woven into this anime reminds me of Cowboy Beebop and makes it a very enjoyable watch.

Some may not like the rather ambiguous ending, but to me it seemed a fitting way to end the series.

The animation is also superb, and the music is not only well-placed but extremely catching, and you will find that just hearing the music will be able to get you excited about the upcoming scene.

The action in the series is also well-paced and interesting, and serves a purpose rather than being thoughtless violence. The way the fight scenes are choreographed, it is almost as if Mirielle and Kirika are dancing while fighting, and Kirika's hand-to-hand combat moves especially are very graceful and awe-inspiring. These gun battles are truly unique among the gun battles of the anime world.


The interaction between Kirika and Mireille is, to me, the highlight of this series. Their relationship faces conflicts both physical and mental, both between each other and between outside forces, and each character develops and grows while becoming more familiar with her partner as well. Side characters like Altena and Chloe also provide depth and conflict to this relationship.

I have re-watched this series over 10 times now, and each time I love it more than the last and become more familiar with the characters. I would reccomend this anime to all types of anime and movie fans.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Oscar Arias (2006-04-15 10:14:03)   2006-04-11 23:08:48
Average 9.5
Animation 10
Sound 9
Story 9
Character 9
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Very good character based anime series. Pacing is a bit slow, this probably could have been done in around 20 episodes with no noticable drop in story quality. While I love the music, there are about 3 or 4 songs they overplayed a bit. After a bit of thought I changed a few of my scores around (overall score at the end should be the same). All of my complaints about the series are VERY nit-picky, this is my second favorite series (so far) next to Elfen Lied.
::More from this review::

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Donal (2006-04-02 15:57:16)   2006-02-08 08:56:36
Average 7.8
Animation 7
Sound 9
Story 7
Character 8
Value 8
Enjoyment 8
While its main characters are two quite cool-blooded killers, Noir is not an anime about the hobby of serial-killing or the whereabouts of the criminal underground. Blood don't flood of wounds. Kirika or Mireille can be aimed by a bench of guns at a reasonable distance and escaped it without a scratch. Knifes can beat guns*. And for an anime were most of the moving objects are high-speed iron or steel bullets, the slow pace is unprecedented.

And however, Noir manages to captivate you...



* : Well, knifes can beat guns in some situations I suppose.
::More from this review::

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Ark_v2    2006-01-22 19:15:36
Average 9.3
Animation 8
Sound 10
Story 10
Character 9
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
This is one of those animes that have all those factors to make a tense and interesting atmosphere and that uses it so well that it wants you to know more and more. Even if this anime is about two sexy assassin girls doing their "job" perfectly there is not blood in the series but in two scenesm ona a flashback and one in a car, but since the strong point of Noir is the storyline it doesn't matter a lot. The animation isn't so good, but still is not an average and less for a TV series.

The two strong points of the series, the music and the story, are just awesome and melting together gives this result. The composer Yuki Kajiura did a great job again by giving each track that feeling that make each scene unique. The characters have a great development. Some of them are just awesome like Kirika that might look as Rei's ripoff but then she reveals herself as a complex character, while others like Cloe fall into the classic stupidness sthereotype. Incredibly powerful but stupid. It totally deserves a check by .hack, madlax, and gost in the shell fans.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Addy (2006-02-12 11:15:20)   2006-01-15 15:28:21
Average 9.8
Animation 9
Sound 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Hi,

This anime isn't really your normal everyday anime (if there is such a thing). The series focusses mainly on character development with little on fights and the like. It is true that the series is a bit long and drawn out but then I enjoy those kind a lot.

The plot is quite interesting but does become complicated at parts and hence the flashbacks and cut-ins that we see regularly. The score is magnificent. Yuki kajiura and Akino Arai have done a splendid job. The animation is not the best but is still quite good. The story is what, in my opinion, keeps this anime afloat otherwise it would boring as hell.

The value and enjoyment is very relative. I suggest that if you enjoy anime's like madlax ( same developing team as noir ), ghost in the shell ova, etc then it is a must but do not expect trigun or beserk kind of action (minus the blood) for more than a few minutes every episode or so.



0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Cataphract (2007-06-28 10:40:04)   2005-12-11 00:15:57
Average 7.2
Animation 7
Sound 8
Story 7
Character 7
Value 7
Enjoyment 7
It's hard to pick a proper place to begin with Noir. Personally, I enjoyed Noir more than the score suggests, but when one looks objectively at the series, as has been pointed out in a few previous reviews, there are a handful of flaws which take away some of Noir's spur-of-the-moment luster.

While Noir's animation is not of the quality one expects from more modern series, two key points really bolster this score: facial expression and fluidity. Character eyes, mouthes, smiles, frowns; every one of these qualities and more really brought Noir to life. With slightly lackluster scenery and character designs, without taking into consideration these minute details, many simply might tune out the animation for the most of the series and prejudge it as of low class. However, coupled with fabulous, smooth framerates, the innate artistic talent behind Noir reveals its true colors.

Now, Noir could have *easily,* and I can't stress this enough, taken a ten in sound. With brilliantly composed, poignant background music, perfectly matched seiyuu, and a vast abundance of ambient sounds, the sound rating is, hands down, solid as granite. However, to be completely fair, there remains one outstanding flaw: overuse of tracks. Out of complete adoration I sought out Noir's soundtrack, but after listening to the entire thing, I noticed quite a handful of tracks that were not instantly recognizable from the series; in fact, I did not know them at all. There are a handful of tracks which, while of the highest merit, supercede the majority of the OST.

One previous reviewer said something about Noir that I did not really consider until after reading what he had wrote. To paraphrase, "Noir took a whole lot of nothing, absolutely nothing, and made it into something oustanding." Noir is neither original nor flawlessly executed, but, nevertheless, fascinates the viewer 'til the end. From the very first episode until the very last, not a whole lot happens; of significance, that is. While not a bad thing in itself, one finds incessantly repeateded flashbacks a bit droll after a certain span of time (perhaps a couple episodes; I generally dislike flashbacks being repeated more than once.)

Moving on, though, to more positive realms, we venture into the world of Noir's characters. Kirika is, by far, one of the most depth-driven characters I have ever seen: where Noir lacks in plot, it sufficiently makes up for here. While normally I'm quite hard pressed to grow emotionally attached to a character, the level of layering put into her character is simply beautiful. It goes to prove that designers can take a character whom might seem slightly cliche and transform them into something absolutely stunning: I would recommend Noir solely on this fact alone. Fate, lonliness, friendship, destiny, life, death; all are touched upon as the series progresses, and done so in a fashion that really, unlike most anime, makes one think. And, thus, biased as I am, anything which provides serious intellectual stimulation definitely deserves a high score.

I must say, Noir is truly a fabulous composition. A top notch series that possesses workings of unabashed greatness. In itself a truly wonderful experience, and I would, in a heartbeat, extend my recommendations for all to watch.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Asgurd (2005-12-10 14:14:31)   2005-12-10 12:13:15
Average 8.0
Animation 7
Sound 10
Story 7
Character 9
Value 7
Enjoyment 8
In this anime, you should not be affraid of using the "forward" button of your media player.

Noir is a good serie with one of the best OST ever made, but I feel that something has been wasted here. It could have been a masterpiece.

Here are just some details which don't fit in.

For instance, everyone knows how SLOW Noir could go. But that's not a problem, for it suits perfectly the mood of the anime. I was rather affraid before watching it that it would be boring. No, I just mean that some flashbacks are annoying. In an episode Mireille is having a flashback. In the following episode, she is having the same flashback, but the comments aren't changed at all. That's like having the flashback of the flashback. I'm just affraid it was a decision to spend some screentime in a easy way rather that something meaning feelings of the characters.

I don't even speak of the mistakes in french - though I'm making too - (and sometimes silly contents, in one episode you see a medieval-looking book, and it's written "Poupee de Cire, Poupee de son"...quite silly) and how you could barely find any corsica spirit in Mireille.

However, I recommend you this anime. Its best moments are worth to bear some defects.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

evilgod84    2005-10-30 19:22:13
Average 7.8
Animation 8
Sound 8
Story 8
Character 7
Value 8
Enjoyment 8
A good series, but it has several nagging issues which keep holding it back.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Shal    2005-10-20 09:13:44
Average 9.7
Animation 9
Sound 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
Most impressive animee series. Great story overall, the characters are consistent and have great evolution throughout the series.
This is not a shootout with good looking girls, but a story about people with emotions, who suffered trauma as children and fight to discover their true selves while caught in the struggle of a destiny they don't control.
The plot is full of misteries masterfully revealed as the episodes go by.
My favourite animee series so far. Great character, great plot, great music!
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Summoner (2007-06-03 14:53:29)   2005-10-16 10:10:20
Average 6.5
Animation 6
Sound 9
Story 6
Character 6
Value 6
Enjoyment 6
Where is the godamned blood?! Seriously, what was this anime's maker thinking? Making anime about serial killers without any blood? I was feeling a bit sadistic lately, so I thought I'll might aswell watch an anime where a lot of people kill themselves, blood splashes arround, people cry, and so I decided to check Noir as it is about killers... But guess what... there was no blood at all, so if you want to watch some real killing and gore, avoid this show.

Well, cuting out an obviuosly pacifistic nature of this anime, it's still quite a good show. Story is quite slow, but yet it's interesting, and characters aren't that bad either. Oh, and main music tracks are truely great, I don't know how should I call the style of them, but it reminds a modern chore of church or something like that.

If you have some free time and you want to check something what has... well pretty good story and pretty good characters, watch this show, yet if you want to find masterpiece, you won't find it here. And if you want to calm down your sadistic nature, you are better off not watching this show, as it's definetly pacifistic. Watch Hellsing or Gungrave instead.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Gatsu (2005-10-09 04:27:44)   2005-10-09 03:51:32
Average 6.8
Animation 7
Sound 9
Story 6
Character 6
Value 7
Enjoyment 6
Throwing knives around when it is in the gun era. Guns>Knives. Bullets faster then knives. Gun aims better then knives. This was one of the dumb parts...they had people with knives going against people with guns. Chloe's character was way off and out dated and that made it very annoying how she can kill people with guns in daylight without getting hurt by throwing knives at them. Another part was when enemies get shot in the stomach, they die instantly.


Well basically the first 16 episodes sucked really bad and turned the people off. The last 10 episodes were worth watching and the story begins there. The characters were slow in developing and the last 10 episodes made good developement. The sound was amazing and the animation was ok. Realisim wasn't too good and the first 16 episodes were stupid in showing so many imppossible situations which again probably turned the people off. This should have been a short series. This isn't the greatest anime, but I say worth watching because it has good values after the story picks up in the last 10 episodes.

I think they wanted to make the first 16 episodes with exciting filler but it did the opposite. Also I found it more like a video game, where you kill so many go to the boss kill him and get information and reward and procced to the next mission. In the end, the BIG Boss. lol. I was annoyed but the last 10 episodes made a good impression.

I don't understand why people have 8s,9s,10s for plot and character because there weren't much developement of those in the first 16 episodes. I guess the ending gave a good impression, but overall I don't think its worth the 8s,9s,10s.



0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

shihhan    2005-09-25 22:44:07
Average 7.3
Animation 8
Sound 9
Story 6
Character 6
Value 6
Enjoyment 9
The only outstanding part of this anime is its ending. The first 20 episodes only served as guides and props for the coming end. It is cool to see two girls battling a couple of tough-looking men, but it can get old and pretty unrealistic. However, again, I stress the ending. Patience may be involved to watch this series without falling asleep, but I was very glad I got through to the end, because the end has got to be one of the very good anime endings I've encountered.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Doormatter20 (2005-08-02 23:56:23)   2005-08-02 23:29:27
Average 8.7
Animation 9
Sound 10
Story 8
Character 9
Value 8
Enjoyment 8
Finally I got to see the end of Noir. I had anticipated it for a long time and hoped for the best. I wasn't dissapointed, this is a great show. The story develops over the course of the show at a good pace. The music is also great and fits the tone of the show. If you want to know more about this great anime read on.
::More from this review::

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

isokana (2005-07-29 15:13:36)   2005-07-29 15:05:23
Average 9.2
Animation 8
Sound 9
Story 9
Character 10
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
Noir got to me slowly. I bought the first dvd and wasn't overly impressed. But when my friend saw it, he was instantly in love and bought the whole series. So I borrowed it and was pleasantly surprised.

The first episodes offer some nice fights and some mystery plot but nothing that would interest me more than a average series. But when I saw the sixth episode (first on the second dvd), my views changed. I was captivated to see if they would kill the old man. Followed by some nice episodes, the series' worth increased substantially. And soon I couldn't wait for the next episode even if the next day was a work day.

I liked the main plot of Noir. It is a mystery story with blurred identities and secret societies, but it isn't messed-up or hard to follow as some other series (Rahxephon, Lain). I always knew as much as the main characters and could draw my own conclusions. Never I felt that I couldn't connect the happenings of the screen to the story. And it is fascinating to find out about Soldats and Kirika and all the connections between the characters.

Characters are solid. Kirika is just adorable. How can I not love a ruthless assassin who goes "yoisho"? Paired with Mireille they make good duo of same lethality but with very different characters. It is marvelous to follow how their relationship evolves from uneasy partnership to true friendship and how Chloe's appearance affects it. I was on the edge watching to last episodes fearing how they would end up, especially Kirika. It's still hard to say who is bad guy or not because they all have their motivations that don't come from selfishness.

If I'd liked to gripe about something I would say the character animation looks clumsy from time to time and soundtrack uses too much repetitions. But that doesn't change the fact that the action scenes are fluid, character designs nice and the soundtrack excellent. Action is far from realism but I don't really watch anime to get some realistic action. I want out-of-this-world action that Noir offers us plenty. Man in suit = soon-to-be corpse, is the iron rule of Noir.

Kirika and Mireille offer varied adventures that are easy to recommend to anyone who likes fast action, good characters and interesting mysteries. Excellent entertainment for the whole run.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Iain    2005-07-14 00:30:43
Average 9.0
Animation 8
Sound 9
Story 8
Character 9
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
I come a little late to the party, since the series has been out for a long time - but, having just watched it through twice, I have to say this is my favorite anime of any I've seen.

Yes, it's true that most of the action is unrealistic (but doesn't James Bond dodge just as many machine gun bullets, just as unrealistically?) - that's the genre, and it's exaggerated here just as other animes exaggerate other facets. The point is, you recognize this for what it is, and once you've suspended disbelief, the action sequences are clever, complex and highly enjoyable.

They're not what make Noir great, though. They certainly add to the depth of the characters, but it's the characters themselves that make this series memorable. They're complex but consistent, and compassionate without being clearly "good" or "evil".

The philosophy of the background arc is fairly warped, but it's mostly understandable, with few of the leaps of imagination anime plot so often requires. At the same time, there are enough ambiguities that you don't have to accept any one character's world view.

The best feature of the series is that it's emotionally compelling. There are some scenes that are quite unsuitable for kids - because the show doesn't shy away from showing bad things happening to kids, or to characters you've grown to care about. But the emotion's driven by the positive, too, with implied relationships that are very touching.

Yuki Kajiura's music is as excellent as always, but with some unusual twists that fit the mood. The other musical contributions are in the same class. (One of the soundtrack CDs, "Noir Blanc Dans Noir" has some especially well-done image songs which help clarify some of the ambiguities in the relationships between the girls... if I can trust the translations I've read :)

I bought the series after watching only three DVDs. I was apprehensive that the later shows might let me down, and I'd regret the purchase. They didn't. The pacing was good, and the ending very well handled.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

kaneda1080 (2005-07-13 06:13:24)   2005-07-01 15:11:14
Average 5.2
Animation 7
Sound 6
Story 6
Character 4
Value 5
Enjoyment 3
This anime was highly recommended to me, but it honestly didn't live up to my expectations... At times, I had to force myself watch some episode, just for the sake of completing the whole series.

There surely are many potentially good themes to be pursued, but narration remains vague and does a poor job of captivating the spectator's attenction and interest. It also happened to me to fall asleep while watching it.

Overall, just an 'average' anime, which delivers more boredom than anything else. Unfortunately, the total lack of variety and motivation completely kill any possible enjoyment this anime could deliver.

See specific sections for further details. (C) 2005 kaneda1080
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

User Review
Next Jump to page   of 8  



Anime and Manga database (AnimeNfo.com)
© 2001-2012 Kevin Lamothe (supers) | Terms and Conditions
Hosted by Swift Communications


banner

Site design by ecxol.net:
ecxol