Hosted by Swift Communications


Battle Angel Alita

Battle Angel Alita
Design - 9.4
Story - 9.5
Character - 9.6
Value - 9.6
Enjoyment - 9.6
Average - 9.5

Reviewed 42 times Help |  Review it


User Review
Next Jump to page   of 3  

lops    2006-07-09 01:52:44
Average 9.2
Design 9
Story 9
Character 9
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
Fantastic Artwork, Likeable Characters, Interesting Story, Excellent Action scenes and a lot of fun. That makes BAA one of my favourite mangas.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

~Yami No Hana~    2006-04-07 19:55:15
Average 9.2
Design 8
Story 9
Character 9
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
What's the most bad-ass manga? Battle Angel Alita, that's what! This manga is seriously amazing. I am a BL/shoujo loving manga girl, and I just couldn't stop reading Alita. It has everything anyone could want in a good story - action, romance, and a touch of SF for good measure. If you haven't read Alita yet, WTF are you waiting for? Even if you think you won't like SF, you'll LOVE this.

BTW, English verion readers make sure to get the reprints - apparantly Viz didn't release the story in the right order the first time (I read this in one of their ads for the Alita reprints), and I know from reading the reprints that if even one part of the story was taken out of place, nothing would make sense.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

nauXolo (2006-04-02 16:33:31)   2006-04-02 15:58:21
Average 7.0
Design 9
Story 7
Character 6
Value 6
Enjoyment 7
Battle Angel Alita is your typical cyborg science fiction story. Full of action, fighting, lots of cool machines, and a sexy female main character. The main aspect of Battle Angel Alita that kept me reading through these 9 volumes was the fighting scenes - each section had one ultimate baddie that Alita had to defeat in order to fulfill her goals. Despite the numerous characters that Alita meets, Alita is really a lone character and her relationships (except with Ido) are really shallow. All the lovers, friends, allies, or enemies she gets just disappear quickly and the relationship is very unmeaningful (hence character rating of 6). Even though she finds someone she loves, their story is just some random fluff to make her seem somehow more human, despite all her fighting and killing. Despite a crappy character cast, there are a lot of cool cyberpunk neuro related topics that are shared with Ghost in the Shell and reading about this sci-fi world was what kept me hooked to this manga.

The main flaw that I saw with Battle Angel Alita was that the story progression didn't really seem to be all that great. Although I was really impressed with the whole background story (the sci-fi world and Alita's past) and everything about the way brains can be so easily manipulated and recreated, the actual adventures Alita/Yoko went on were kind of pointless and meaningless. It was all just a medium for her to fight - fight until the end with Tiphraeans. A lot of characters were also thrown into the fray, and as quickly as they came in they were killed through some weird distorted way.

There really isn't a lot of emotional events in this manga. This is a pure fighting/action manga with some cool brain sci-fi aspects to it. Because of that, this is pretty forgettable. Everything about Battle Angel Alita has great 'cool' factor, but it just doesn't make my blood boil at all. At times I got really bored with the lack of any real interaction between characters and just skipped to the next fighting/action scene to see some random baddy get killed.

In the end: a cool manga with neat designs and neat ideas in a cool sci-fi world, but doesn't leave any heavy impressions on me.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

petran79    2006-02-27 14:09:57
Average 8.6
Design 8
Story 8
Character 9
Value 9
Enjoyment 9
One of the best titles I've read and also one where the protagonist had the most impact. Truly very good character developement for the genre.

After Alita enters Tiphares later in the manga it loses some points but it still remains exhilarating.

As for the story though it is very original not everything is revealed.

There is Battle Angel Alita: Last Order to close the gap in the story and if you've read the original, Last Order is also a necessary read (I've read up to volume 7). The design in Last Order is better too and the story looks more promising.

But read this manga first. A must-read.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Maximus Brutus    2006-02-15 16:16:47
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
This was a badass manga


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

HSuke    2005-04-24 17:01:25
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
I've read a lot of manga, and Battle Angel Alita really tops the list. The manga really has the perfect blend of action, adventure, and character-value that make it such a thrilling and meaningful story. I highly encourage reading it.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

CoachZ (2005-03-20 19:26:00)   2005-03-20 18:28:44
Average 9.6
Design 8
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
I was so glad of finishing this series and had a great time reading it. It has a very strong plot, adding with some interesting and superb characters. Gally was great leading character, who grows more with her personality as the story progresses. It does also have couple of good side characters, such as her doctor and some other side characters during the middle and end of the story. The villains and the conflicts that were created within story are really strange and mind-boggling. The style of the art is quite good for an aging manga, with some noticeable character designs. If you have any chance to see it at the manga shelf, read it. You’ll might see it as a worthwhile read.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Oons    2005-01-17 23:03:37
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
The Best!

By far the best manga/comic I've yet read...need I say more. Go read it!


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

collector    2004-12-30 03:46:26
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Gunnm is my favorite manga series ever.

The reason is because of the main character Gally. She is incredibly strong mentally, physically, and emotionally. But she has her shortcomings just like everybody else. Every time she is almost ready to give up, she finds something to live and fight for. She grows and becomes stronger with every obstacle. This is what I love about her. Gally is an incredibly strong-willed female character that I find extremely appealing.

Everytime I read this manga I find something new to appreciate about it. The manga continues to grow on me over time. Although Gunnm is one manga that should not be missed out on, I don't think this manga would appeal to everybody because of it's violent and dark nature.

If you're not scared of violence, blood, and a cold honest look at life you should definitely get your hands on Gunnm.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

M (2004-11-28 23:27:11)   2004-11-28 23:00:16
Average 9.6
Design 8
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
This was a manga that really took me by storm. I have to say that since this was published such a long time ago, it's hard to believe it still holds its originality and impact when i read it '04.

It's hard to start where to begin talking about it. i'll just go as it comes. as i read it, i had skimmed one of the 9 books and was unimpressed and not looking for reading the very long epic i had in front of me. However, lacking the 1st book, i began with the 2nd, which probably was best, as the 2nd is a tender and real love story i couldn't help but relate to the life of reality. From there, i read non stop until the very ending, where the character experienced so much of the good and bad that life had to offer, triumping and hating a farce of a world, and lastly i was trumped by one of the most disturbing (more disturbing than the already shocking gore this series is splattered with) ideas in the book, a "secret" mentioned early on, forshadowing something momentous - and it was beyond momentous.

As the friend who lent Alita to me described the series, it is a "literary masterpiece". It probably isn't that great i agree, as i read over it and compare it to literatue of the likes by Dickinson who defined a genre or the dark poems of Poe, but as i finished the series in one sitting, i took a gasp for i had stopped breathing for a few seconds at the ending. I'm not sure why, the ending was just fitting it seemed, the whole of it seemed to be so perfect it grabbed me to a halt. (this is probably just me, but it's probably a good read overall if i can feel such emotions) If there was a way i could describe it, it is a realist scifi/action fiction.

My own real life can relate to the experiences the main protagonist, alita, in ways that seem so... telling. I believe that his manga couldn't have the impact, even i'm still going over it trying to make sense of things, to anyone who hasn't suffered some of life's unfortunate blessings. but maybe those more intune with the human situation could understand what i am saying.

The design is old, so i gave it an 8, not bad, but old. But i really came to love alitas huge puffy hair and octopus lips as unique and classic traits. i don't really like old anime myself and would stay away from anime/mange just cause it's design looks 80s, but the story, the character, the value, the enjoyment all deserve those scores. the story itself really deserves a 9.5 because as the writer/artist created this manga as he went along (published in monthly/weekly magazines) and at the ending decided to end the series before he planned. This reflects a difference from full novels that had the advantage of beign edited and proofread as a whole for more effect, however, Dickenson's Great Expectations followed a serialized style as well and that was a fabulous Dickenson book. Pertaining to the ending, it may have ending before the writer had planned, but the rollercoaster ending that was produced fit in so well, was so fast and touching, that i couldn't have imagined him redoing this "mistake". However, he has decided to redue the ending of Battle Angel Alita, which in my opinion was the later of the 2 possibilities he suggested may become of this retelling, "a [sappy] space opera" He created a story that used so many basic elements but used them in such a way that a rare find was born All this made it so very good and rare when it all came together.

Book 1,2,3 and 4 are all seemingly independent stories, but as the story progresses to the 9th book, the series can then be divided into 2 sections. The 1st 4 and then the last 5. the last 5 run together more seemingly and bring the 1st 4 back into play. so as the author takes you in 5 total directions, he has one main direction, and he asks you to read it again because you just didn't catch everything the 1st time. I feel that the author used every panel to its fullest extent, giving each block and sketch and line of ink a definite and culmulating purpose. This would be the definition of a good comic writer/artist

One of the things i couldn't help but notice is how the writer brings to the reader new and interesting characters, giving them life, and using them to add to alita's character through her experiences with them. In their short lives and especially with their deaths, Alita learns new depths that lay in the unknown darkness of life again, again. I can't help but remind an interested individual of alita that the series uses FARCE that critically satirises and exposes human nature, albeit in a framework set in humanities future, but pertains to the some fundamental questions we deal with today. The world is exposed as an absurd world that has no meaning or sense, putting the unrecognized and uncertain good of a few against a world of greying evil.

It's hard to sum this all up.

Basic - a deeper than usual and intellectually critical farce on humanity's nature and its future as described through the life experiences of a cyborg. It is certainly somethign i think isn't getting the attention it deserves.

Don't like cyborgs, scifi, romance, phisopihcal stuff, freudian, intense character development, well...and are below the age of 22, then you wouldn't understand it enough to get that it was something special. Theres a lot of kool action though.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Julian    2004-10-14 14:22:34
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
GREAT
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Asghaad    2004-06-29 01:53:38
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
The best of all


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Coofrosty    2004-06-04 17:04:33
Average 9.2
Design 10
Story 9
Character 9
Value 9
Enjoyment 9
I think the manga design for the characters were pobably one of the best there is. The story is storyline is pretty intresting. Too bad they never try to make it a full length anime series. It would of been pretty rock for I think an action fighting type of animation could is in a show form not a book form. =)


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

mononoke    2004-05-27 22:28:28
Average 9.3
Design 8
Story 10
Character 9
Value 0
Enjoyment 10
Design is masterlike with power and beauty, especially in the first two books.
Kishiro created a paranoid world that maby in the future we can call them ours.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

kagisa    2004-04-10 19:54:05
Average 9.6
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 9
Enjoyment 9
It's simple an excelent manga.
This is in my opinion, the best manga that I have never read ( but that doesn't mean that it's better than anime like evangelion ( lol ) ). Well then.
The design is really worked and that kind of drawing is excelent ( is originaly than other manga's design ). The story is excelent, a destroyed world divide between privileged people and torn people ( an interesting athmospher ), an a pretty girl cyborg, that's very misterious and that she want to be a hunter and help his "friend" Ido Daisuke, that he's objective is kill for enjoy himself, etc. The characters are elabored, and their personality are well defined.
That manga is really enjoyment, I think that is an essential manga to read, if you want to be a real anime-fan, excelent design, excelent characters, excelent story, excelent manga ( bad anime ( I don't like the anime of that Alita, to short, and resume the manga too bad ( at least in may opinion ), likes Akira's situation ) ).


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

E    2004-03-13 00:30:53
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
It's a MAJOR 10 in Manga genre(period), all the way across the board. Manga, design, story, character, value, enjoyment all TOP OUT the best-- no doubt about it... The anime version is just as awesome, the only flaw is that they only made 2 short OVA's!! I can image a whole series of this stuff!! Wow-- imagine 9 GUNNM OVA's.. With Yukito Kishiro and Nobuteru Yuki at the design helm.. now that is some dreamin... Up next,-- sometime in the future the rights and the production of Battle Angel (GUNNM) movie have been taken over by none other than the director,producer, and writer of the Titanic and Terminator 2 , yes..yes.. M.James Cameron! (I hope that he doesn't screw it up)


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

zapan    2004-02-14 07:53:47
Average 10.0
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
This manga rox! i fell in love with alita ;) she is just so so, so so so... just read it! ^_^


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

nomaad    2004-02-05 06:13:23
Average 9.4
Design 10
Story 8
Character 10
Value 9
Enjoyment 10
I started reading this manga quite casually, but I soon became completely and utterly hooked. The characters just grab you by your throat and don't let go, especially the main character, Alita. It's really amazing seeing thow the character develops and changes through the nine books, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like it in a manga before. The supporting characters are obviously not as prominently featured, but most all are well-fleshed out and interesting (especially the Den and Kaos characters). The story has its ups and downs but most of the time I cared enought about the characters to keep reading and it paid off in the end, the ending is really good in my opinion,

While characters are the main strengths of this series, that does not mean that other qualities have been neglected. The art is very good for the most part and character/cyborg designs are truly original.

All in all, a truly classic manga and one of the very best I have ever read. Heartily recommended.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Bleen    2003-12-12 18:20:42
Average 9.8
Design 9
Story 10
Character 10
Value 10
Enjoyment 10
Amazing. If you just saw the anime, don't be tricked by it... the plot covered in the manga is a million times better than the anime's... Incredible story... The characters sucked me in... Read the entire thing in 3 days ;D~ I think the only time that happened to me was when I read Akira ^_^


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Believer    2003-12-10 10:34:52
Average 9.6
Design 10
Story 10
Character 10
Value 9
Enjoyment 9
Whoa! This manga/comic blows your mind. The story is among the best I've ever found in a manga. The characters are evolving, say the least, and the art-work is super. If you havn't bought this yet, be sure that you do.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

User Review
Next Jump to page   of 3  



Anime and Manga database (AnimeNfo.com)
© 2001-2012 Kevin Lamothe (supers) | Terms and Conditions
Hosted by Swift Communications


banner

Site design by ecxol.net:
ecxol